Share

Is the HDFC Bank Diners Club Privilege Credit Card Worth It?

Enter what you spend where this card pays more, and the benefits you would use. See what it is worth to you in rupees, after its fee.

  • 207Cards to check
  • FreeCost
HDFC Bank Diners Club Privilege Credit Card
HDFC Bank Diners Club Privilege Credit CardView card →
  • Travel card
  • Needs ₹35,000 a month income
  • ₹1,180 fee a year (with GST)
  • Fee waived from ₹25,000 a month
  • 1% on most spends; 10% only at partner merchants
  • 12 lounge visits a year
  • Pays in reward points
Good for
  • travel only at HDFC SmartBuy: 10% back, up to ₹2,000 a month
  • online shopping only at HDFC SmartBuy brand vouchers: 5% back, up to ₹1,500 a month
  • spending ₹25,000 or more a month: the ₹1,180 fee is waived
  • flyers: 12 airport lounge visits a year
Skip it if
  • you spend less than ₹25,000 a month (₹3,00,000 a year, rent and wallet loads not counted): the ₹1,180 fee is then charged
  • you pay mostly by UPI: a Visa or Mastercard card cannot pay by UPI
  • you spend a lot on fuel, utility bills, rent or insurance: the card's terms do not state a rate there, so we count nothing
  • you rarely spend on HDFC SmartBuy: the 10% rate applies only there, everything else earns 1%
  • you often pay in foreign currency: 3.5% is added to every foreign spend
  • you sometimes pay only the minimum due: interest of 3.75% a month (45% a year) outweighs any reward

Your spend a month, by kind

Terms on the normal rate: 4 Reward Points per ₹200 (~1% on SmartBuy) on all other spends, 1 point ≈ ₹0.50 SmartBuy / ₹0.20 statement

Total on the card: ₹0 a month

Abroad and benefits

Every rate on this card, and what your spend earns

Spend categoryRateMonthly capWhere it appliesYour spend earns
UPI payments (scan and pay)Earns nothing-a Visa or Mastercard card cannot pay by UPI-
Online shopping1%No capAnywhere else in the category-
Online shopping, only at listed merchants5%₹1,500Only at: HDFC SmartBuy brand vouchers (GyFTR, Woohoo)Terms: 5X reward points on GyFTR/Woohoo brand vouchers bought on SmartBuy (~5%). The accelerated points cap at 3,000 a month, inside the 4,000 SmartBuy cap; base 4 RP per ₹200 keeps earning after that.-
Dining and food delivery1%No capAnywhere else in the category-
Dining and food delivery, only at listed merchants5%₹1,250Only at: Swiggy, ZomatoTerms: 5X (20 RP per ₹200, ~5%) on Swiggy & Zomato. The accelerated 4X portion caps at 2,500 RP a month across both, about ₹31,250 of spend, then the base 4 RP/₹200 continues uncapped. Online FOOD ORDERS only, so Instamart and Dineout do not qualify, and wallet payments are excluded.-
Groceries1%No capThe card's normal rate-
Travel: flights, hotels, trains1%No capAnywhere else in the category-
Travel: flights, hotels, trains, only at listed merchants10%₹2,000Only at: HDFC SmartBuyTerms: SmartBuy up to 10X, hotels 10X (~10%), flights 5X, trains 3X; accelerated points capped at 4,000 RP a month and 2,000 a day, brand vouchers included. Vouchers have their own row-
FuelNot stated-the card's exclusions are not published, and many cards pay nothing here-
Bills and rechargesNot stated-the card's exclusions are not published, and many cards pay nothing here-
RentNot stated-the card's exclusions are not published, and many cards pay nothing here-
Insurance premiumsNot stated-the card's exclusions are not published, and many cards pay nothing here-
School and college feesNot stated-the card's exclusions are not published, and many cards pay nothing here-
Wallet top-upsNot stated-the card's exclusions are not published, and many cards pay nothing here-
Taxes and government paymentsNot stated-the card's terms state no rate here; many cards pay nothing on these-
Spend abroad or in a foreign currency1%No capThe card's normal rate-
Everything else1%No capThe card's normal rate-

Card data sourced via CardAdvisor.in, India Credit Card Facts, CC BY 4.0, adapted by SkyloFin.

Common Questions

When is a credit card worth its annual fee?

When the rewards you actually earn in a year are more than the fee plus 18% GST, or when you spend enough for the bank to waive the fee. This calculator works out both from the card's own published terms.

Why is GST added to the fee?

Card fees carry 18% GST, so a ₹1,000 fee costs ₹1,180. Where the bank already quotes the fee with GST, it is not added twice.

What does 'capped' mean?

Many cards limit the reward you can earn in a month in a category. Spending above the cap earns nothing extra, so the calculator stops counting there.

Is a lifetime free card always better?

Not always. A paid card with higher rewards can leave you with more once you spend enough. The break-even line shows the monthly spend where that starts.

SkyloFin - Expense Tracker

Your Money. One Clear View.

Automatically organise your spending, track expenses and understand where your money goes.

  • Reads bank SMS No account linking, no passwords.
  • Sorts every rupee Into categories you can edit.
  • Bills and cards Statements found, due dates reminded.
  • Your Google Drive Backed up to you, never to us.