Is the HDFC Regalia Gold Credit Card Worth It?
Enter what you spend where this card pays more, and the benefits you would use. See what it is worth to you in rupees, after its fee.
- 207Cards to check
- FreeCost

- Shopping card
- Needs ₹1,50,000 a month income
- ₹2,950 fee a year (with GST)
- Fee waived from ₹33,333 a month
- 1.25% on most spends; 6.25% only at partner merchants
- 18 lounge visits a year
- Pays in reward points
- online shopping only at Myntra, Marks & Spencer, Nykaa, Reliance Digital: 6.25% back, up to ₹2,500 a month
- travel only at HDFC SmartBuy: 6.25% back, up to ₹2,000 a month
- spending ₹33,333 or more a month: the ₹2,950 fee is waived
- flyers: 18 airport lounge visits a year
- spending abroad: 2% markup, most cards add 3.5%
- you spend less than ₹33,333 a month (₹4,00,000 a year, rent and wallet loads not counted): the ₹2,950 fee is then charged
- you pay mostly by UPI: a Visa or Mastercard card cannot pay by UPI
- you spend a lot on fuel, utility bills, rent or insurance: the card's terms do not state a rate there, so we count nothing
- you rarely spend on Myntra, Marks & Spencer, Nykaa, Reliance Digital or HDFC SmartBuy: the 6.25% rate applies only there, everything else earns 1.25%
- you sometimes pay only the minimum due: interest of 3.75% a month (45% a year) outweighs any reward
Your spend a month, by kind
Terms on the normal rate: 5 reward points per ₹200 (~1.25%) on other spends, cut from 4 RP/₹150 on 15 May 2026
Total on the card: ₹0 a month
Abroad and benefits
Every rate on this card, and what your spend earns
| Spend category | Rate | Monthly cap | Where it applies | Your spend earns |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| UPI payments (scan and pay) | Earns nothing | - | a Visa or Mastercard card cannot pay by UPI | - |
| Online shopping | 1.25% | No cap | Anywhere else in the category | - |
| Online shopping, only at listed merchants | 6.25% | ₹2,500 | Only at: Myntra, Marks & Spencer, Nykaa, Reliance DigitalTerms: 25 reward points per ₹200 (~6.25%) at partner brands (1 point ≈ ₹0.50). The 5X accelerator caps at 5,000 RP a month across all four brands combined; the base 5 RP/₹200 on them is uncapped. | - |
| Dining and food delivery | 1.25% | No cap | The card's normal rate | - |
| Groceries | 1.25% | No cap | The card's normal rate | - |
| Travel: flights, hotels, trains | 1.25% | No cap | Anywhere else in the category | - |
| Travel: flights, hotels, trains, only at listed merchants | 6.25% | ₹2,000 | Only at: HDFC SmartBuyTerms: SmartBuy: flights 5X (~6.25%), hotels 10X (~12.5%), capped 4,000 RP a month | - |
| Fuel | Not stated | - | the card's exclusions are not published, and many cards pay nothing here | - |
| Bills and recharges | Not stated | - | the card's exclusions are not published, and many cards pay nothing here | - |
| Rent | Not stated | - | the card's exclusions are not published, and many cards pay nothing here | - |
| Insurance premiums | Not stated | - | the card's exclusions are not published, and many cards pay nothing here | - |
| School and college fees | Not stated | - | the card's exclusions are not published, and many cards pay nothing here | - |
| Wallet top-ups | Not stated | - | the card's exclusions are not published, and many cards pay nothing here | - |
| Taxes and government payments | Not stated | - | the card's terms state no rate here; many cards pay nothing on these | - |
| Spend abroad or in a foreign currency | 1.25% | No cap | The card's normal rate | - |
| Everything else | 1.25% | No cap | The card's normal rate | - |
Card data sourced via CardAdvisor.in, India Credit Card Facts, CC BY 4.0, adapted by SkyloFin.
Common Questions
When is a credit card worth its annual fee?
When the rewards you actually earn in a year are more than the fee plus 18% GST, or when you spend enough for the bank to waive the fee. This calculator works out both from the card's own published terms.
Why is GST added to the fee?
Card fees carry 18% GST, so a ₹1,000 fee costs ₹1,180. Where the bank already quotes the fee with GST, it is not added twice.
What does 'capped' mean?
Many cards limit the reward you can earn in a month in a category. Spending above the cap earns nothing extra, so the calculator stops counting there.
Is a lifetime free card always better?
Not always. A paid card with higher rewards can leave you with more once you spend enough. The break-even line shows the monthly spend where that starts.


